In 2010, Georgia passed a law designed to penalize excessive speeders known as the Super Speeder Law. The law cited anyone driving more than 20 mph over the speed limit and imposed an additional $200 fine on top of a speeding ticket.
Just five years later, five Georgia nurses lost their lives when a speeding tractor-trailer slammed into their car from behind. According to reports, the truck was moving well over the speed limit and took out several more vehicles in a chain reaction crash that ended with a tanker truck bursting into flames.
The trucker’s speed sparked an outcry. In response to this, in 2015 representative Ron Stephens penned House Bill 732 and imposed even tougher penalties on drivers overstepping Georgia highway speed limits – particularly commercial vehicle drivers.
During a testimony before the House of Representatives, Stephens explained to the House that a highway accident between two cars is far different from a crash involving a commercial truck. “When they’re involved in an accident, they have a tendency to squash you like a bug.”
With the new bill, commercial drivers who are caught traveling only 10 mph over the speed limit can now be hit with a Super Speeder citation.
The Super Speeder Law has faced much speculation and debate, with many commercial vehicle drivers calling it unconstitutional. Here, we help answer some of the most frequently asked questions surrounding the law.
Super Speeder FAQ
Q: What is the Super Speeder Law in Georgia?
A: The Super Speeder Law imposes an extra $200 fine on top of a regular speeding ticket. You could be cited as a Super Speeder if you are a driver of a passenger car traveling faster than 85 mph on interstates and 75 mph on two-lane roads. Drivers of commercial vehicles that weigh at least 100,000 pounds can receive a Super Speeder citation for traveling just 10 mph over the speed limit.
Q: How much does a Super Speeder fine cost in Georgia?
A: The Super Speeder Law adds an extra $200 fine on top of a regular speeding citation.
Q: How will I be notified of the fee?
A: If you are charged with a Super Speeder Citation, you will receive notice via first class mail. You will have 120 days from the notice date to pay the fee to the Department of Driver Services.
Q: How long does a Super Speeder ticket stay on your record?
A: Super Speeder tickets do not add points to your record. However, you must pay the fine in addition to other applicable fees and court costs to avoid license suspension.
Q: Are additional points added to my record for being declared a Super Speeder or being suspended for non-payment of Super Speeder fees?
A: Any points you receive are based on the original speeding ticket violation, not the Super Speeder fee.
Q: Is a Super Speeder a felony?
A: The Super Speeder is a financial penalty, not a felony or criminal offense.
Q: Will my license be suspended?
A: Failure to pay the Super Speeder fee to DDS within 120 days of the notice date will result in the suspension of your license, permit, or driving privilege in Georgia. In that case, a $50 reinstatement fee will be required in addition to the $200 Super Speeder fee to reinstate your license, permit, or driving privilege.
Fried Rogers Goldberg: Your Advocates & Attorneys
At Fried Rogers Goldberg, we have dedicated our practice to keeping our roads safer by holding negligent parties responsible for their careless acts, including speeders. We represent victims of catastrophic trucking and automobile accidents nationwide. Our attorneys pursue large trucking companies and their drivers in civil court, building a strong case on your behalf so you can focus on your healing.
We have devoted our careers to helping people like you rebuild their lives after an accident. No matter your legal question, we are here to listen and to help give you reliable answers and the prospect of a better future.
Contact us today at (404) 591-1800 for your free case evaluation.